on Sundays…we barbecue!

24 Jan

One of my favorite things about Charlie is his tight-knit group of friends. Whereas my friends are spread out all over the state (that’s what happens when you switch colleges..three times), most of his college buddies (and a TON of his family members!) are still in San Antonio. Since everyone is so close, we usually spend Sundays at our house with the entire crew (most of them anyway!), watching football and drinking beer. Beeeeeer! Ahh, why does it have to be Monday? You horrible horrible day!

This Sunday, like most Sundays, we barbecued. The result:

Image

BOOM! May not be the prettiest burger (can I blame that on bad lighting and my iPhone?) but I’m tellin’ ya’ll, it packed a tasty, yummy, delicious punch! Charlie will say it’s his amazing skills on the grill, but I’m blaming the deliciosity (word?? Now it is!) on the chipotle mayo and caramelized onions & jalapenos that I whipped up!

Image

Chipotle Mayo

1 large chipotle pepper, chopped (I get the canned ones with adobo sauce.. yum!)

1 cup mayonnaise (I use Duke’s!)

1-2 garlic cloves, minced

Add all of your ingredients to a food processor and let’er rip! So very simple, and so very delish!

Image

Caramelized Onions & Jalapenos

1 large onion

2-3 large jalapenos, seeded

1/4 cup beer (I used Bud Light..I’m from Texas, whaddya expect?)

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1-2 tablespoons butter

Adobo seasoning

Slice your onion into rings. Do the same with the seeded jalapenos. I seed mine because my “spicy tolerance” is a little low.. feel free to keep some seeds for an extra kick! Put the onion rings and jalapenos in a skillet, add all of the ingredients, sprinkle with a generous amount of Adobo and let simmer over medium-low heat. I always start these before we start grilling, so I put the heat on very low about 10-15 mins in.

Oh, can’t forget the stuffed jalapenos! Thanks to Javy for spending a very, very long time stuffing these bad boys perfectly 🙂

Image

I was too obsessed with my contributions to pay much attention to his method, but they came out wonderfully!! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

