slow cooker beef stroganoff

31 Jan

Ok, so I’ve attempted to make beef stroganoff countless times.. no joke, it has always been DISGUSTING. Seriously. Maybe I was just trying too hard to make it complex…who knows! Anyway, I gave it another go (with a much simpler recipe that I made some minor adjustments to) and IT WAS A WINNER! Woo hoo! Go me! I now have 15 dishes (10??) that I know how to make that will consistently turn out delicious… ok edible. But this one really was delicious!

Let me apologize right now for not including any pictures in this post.. It’s not for lack of effort. I took about 30 pictures while I was cooking, but the way the raw stew meat looked on camera…just wasn’t workin’ for me! So here is the recipe, sans pics. You’ll just have to trust me!

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Ingredients:

1-1.5 lbs stew meat

1 large onion

1 can Golden Mushroom soup (it HAS to be Golden Mushroom ya’ll.. Cream of Mushroom just won’t cut it!)

Salt

Pepper

2 cloves minced garlic

1/2 cup beef stock

5 oz. cream cheese (cut into blocks)

a healthy dollop of sour cream

 

Dice the onion and place it in the bottom of the crock pot. Season the stew meat with some salt and pepper, and layer it over the onion. Add the minced garlic, soup, and beef stock. (umm, hello, easy.) Let cook on Low for about 6-7 hours, or on High for 4-5 hours (I did High for 4.5 hours and it was terrific!). Right before serving, add the cream cheese blocks and the sour cream. Stir until melted/combined. Serve over egg noodles or rice. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

