slow cooker ribs.. because everything I “cook”, is made in a slow cooker.

7 Feb

Am I the only person who watched the half time show last night and completely missed M.I.A. throw the bird?? Literally had no idea until it was all over the news this morning.. but I also had a pina colada with my breakfast taco yesterday morning. Super Bowl Sunday, don’t judge me!

We’ve been having crazy weather in San Antonio lately.. one day it’s hot and sunny, the next day it’s freezing, the next seven days it rains. Can’t complain though, if anyone needs rain, it’s us! Our backyard doesn’t really know what to do with all this rain, it’s looking especially lush (meaning there are no giant patches of dirt where the grass has decided to pack up and look for wetter pastures). Regardless, the threat of rain kept us indoors yesterday and we weren’t able to barbecue. We decided pretty early in the day that an outdoor BBQ was a no-go, so I had plenty of time to throw these deeeelicious ribs in the crock pot! This recipe is incredibly simple and I almost feel silly for posting it, but it’s just so so good! AND I TOOK PICTURES (kind of)!!

Slow Cooker Ribs

1 rack of baby back ribs (you can use beef or pork.. I used pork this time around. I also used two racks since we had company)

1 large-ish onion

1 bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce (I use Sweet Baby Ray’s… mm mm mm!)

your favorite rib-rub (I use Rudy’s!)

Season your ribs with your favorite rib rub. Rub it in good too! Place your ribs in the crock pot, meat side out.

I had about a half rack left after making my “rib ring” so I stuffed them down into the bottom. Pour BBQ sauce over the ribs until all of the meat is covered. Chop your onion, and place it right in the middle.

Cover the ribs, and let them cook on Low for 4-5 hours. Once the ribs are done, it’s time to broil them. Do not skip this step!! This is what gives the ribs that gooey but crunchy crust! Preheat your oven to broil. While it’s heating up, cover a baking sheet in aluminum foil (you’ll be so happy not to have to scrape that pan later, lemme tell ya). I always place a small baking rack on top of my baking sheet, but I’m sure you could skip that part. Place the ribs on the sheet, meat side down. Using a brush or a spoon, cover the ribs with the sauce from the crock pot. Put them in the oven and let them broil for about 5 minutes. Flip the ribs, and cover them with sauce again. Broil for an additional 5-6 minutes.

 

These ribs are seriously killer. So much so.. that I was too busy eating to take a picture of the “After”. 😦 I swear I’ll get the hang of this! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

