my first lasagna.. just so happened to be the world’s best!

27 Feb

Lasagna has long been a favorite of ours but I’ve always been terrified to make it. It just seems so daunting… the sauce, the layers, the TIME.. not appealing! I promised Charlie that I’d make it for Valentine’s Day…then spent Valentine’s Day praying to the porcelain gods, never wanting to cook/eat/smell/taste/walk/live again.

So last night (that’s right, two weeks later) I finally felt brave enough to try again. The results?…AMAZING. I’ll admit, I cheated. I cheated big time. I didn’t make my own sauce šŸ˜¦ I would make a horrible Italian! But I was exhausted from softball practice (more on the inaugural championship season of the Sultans of Swat later), and didn’t feel like being in a hot kitchen for eleventy billion hours… in all honesty, this lasagna kicked ass anyway. We only have 1 piece left over! I got the original recipe here:Ā http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Worlds-Best-Lasagna/Detail.aspx, but tweaked it to satisfy my laziness. Don’t be scared! It’s seriously easy!

World’s Best Lasagna

  • 1 pound sweet Italian sausage
  • 3/4 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup minced onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 (24 oz.) jar of Clasico Four Cheese Pasta Sauce
  • 1 (24 oz.) jar of Clasico Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • dried basil leaves
  • Ā a couple dashes of fennel seeds
  • a couple dashes of Italian seasoning
  • salt
  • ground black pepper
  • 4 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 12 lasagna noodles (depending on your dish.. I only used 8)
  • 16 ounces ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 pound mozzarella cheese, sliced
  • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  1. In a large sauce pan, cook sausage, ground beef, onion, and garlic over medium heat until well browned. Stir in both jars of pasta sauce. Season with sugar, basil, fennel seeds, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, and 2 tablespoons parsley (to taste… since I never ever measure my herbs/seasoning spices). Simmer, covered, while making your noodles. (See? This is where I cheated.. This step originally took 2 hours! I made it last like 30 minutes!)
  2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook lasagna noodles in boiling water for 8 to 10 minutes. Drain noodles, and rinse with cold water. In a mixing bowl, combine ricotta cheese, egg, remaining parsley, and 1/2 teaspoon salt.
  3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  4. To assemble, spread 1 1/2 cups of meat sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish. Arrange 6 noodles (or however many it takes to completely cover the sauce.. I had to cut some of mine into weird shapes) lengthwise over meat sauce. Spread with one half of the ricotta cheese mixture. Top with a layer of mozzarella cheese slices. Spoon 1 1/2 cups meat sauce over mozzarella, and sprinkle with 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. Repeat layers, and top with remaining mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Cover with foil. To prevent sticking, either spray foil with cooking spray, or make sure the foil does not touch the cheese.Ā 
  5. Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes. Remove foil, and bake an additional 25 minutes. Cool for 15 minutes before serving.

This makes quite a bit of lasagna, which was apparently fine by us since we ate the entire thing anyway. Goes perfectly with a salad and breadsticks! Hope ya’ll enjoy!

3 Responses to “my first lasagna.. just so happened to be the world’s best!”

  1. Ariane February 28, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    I’ll be honest… I look down at your use of jarred sauce… but I’ll let it slide since you made it your own!

    My mom makes killer lasagna but she cheats too. She makes her own sauce but she uses the no-boil lasagna noodles. They are amazing! They take out the frustration of boiling (and tearing) traditional noodles. You should try them! šŸ™‚

    • sequinsandscribbles February 28, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      lol!!! aww Ariane, you’re my first comment šŸ™‚ I’ve made my own sauce in the past, and actually have a really good recipe for it, but I was just wayyy too tired! I’ve seen the no boil noodles but was afraid that they would taste different.. I’ll take your word for it and get those next time! anything to make the process quicker! haha

  2. Raleigh Lemish March 19, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    Some truly prime articles on this web site , bookmarked .

Leave a Reply

