avocado & mozzarella grilled cheese sammy

19 Mar

Ohh noooo 😦 I’ve done it again. You know, forgot that I had a blog. I have a decent excuse; it’s tax season, which means that Charlie works late (very late) almost every night.. which also means, that I have no problem eating fast food 4 nights a week. Gross, I know, but I haven’t been in the kitchen much (see: at all).

My parents recently purchased a house on Canyon Lake, so we’ve been going out there a lot to help unpack and get everything set up! Seriously difficult spending weekends there and forcing myself into the office every Monday morning, but something tells me that 25 is too early to retire.

Isn’t it adorable?? I just love it. Never wanna leave. DON’T MAKE ME! Plus, like 3 blocks away is the most. delicious. Italian. restaurant. ever. EVER. My mom and dad discovered it the first night they spent in Canyon Lake, and have been going at least once a weekend since. It’s called Gennaro’s Trattoria, and I’m telling you, it’s amazing.

Since I’m the worst blogger in the world, I forgot to take a picture until I was literally on the last bite, but that’s the Caprese appetizer… yummmm, the mozzarella was to die for.

Managed to take a picture before eating my entire meal, but not before I chopped up the meatballs. UGH! I swear, I’ll get the hang of this…but maybe not. That’s the Spaghetti con Polpette and holy shitballs people, it was so good. If you are ever in the Canyon Lake area, I highly recommend this place. It’s small and cozy, with great lighting and atmosphere.. plus, if you couldn’t already tell, um I really liked the food.

So anyway, back to my kitchen. It’s Lent, which means no meat on Fridays for this little Catholic. Last Friday I was feeling especially lazy and opted to just make myself a grilled cheese.. which then turned into an Avocado and Mozzarella Grilled Cheese Masterpiece with balsamic vinaigrette to dip it in.

Yes the picture is blurry, yes that string of cheese is attached to my mouth, no I did not take a picture of the dipping sauce. Come on.

Avocado and Mozzarella Grilled Cheese

2 slices of bread

sliced mozzarella (I like my grilled cheese to be very VERY cheesy.. so just add however much you like!)

1 avocado, sliced

salt & pepper to taste

butter

Spread one side of each piece of bread with butter. Place both pieces of bread (butter side down) in a large pan over (the low side of) medium heat. Lay mozzarella slices on both pieces of bread (I know this sounds weird, but it all comes together in a second). Cover the pan for a couple of minutes. Once the bread is toasty on the butter side and the cheese is starting to melt, place the avocado slices on one piece of bread, season with salt & pepper, and flip the other piece of bread on top (forming a sandwich). Let it sit for a minute or two, then flip. Aaaaand DONE!

The key to a good grilled cheese sandwich is patience. Keep the heat on the low side of medium and give it time, don’t squish it with a spatula (like Charlie does. totally ruins it!). I dipped mine in La Madeleine’s Balsamic Vinaigrette and it was delish! Enjoy!

One Response to “avocado & mozzarella grilled cheese sammy”

  1. Ayumi March 21, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    Useful content and awesome design you got here! I want to thank you for sharing your solutions and taking the time into the stuff you publish! Sublime work!
    http://www.smallbusinessplansoftware.net/

Leave a Reply

