simple sauteed spinach

3 May

Okay, this one is simple. Maybe even TOO simple to qualify for a blog post…but I don’t care because spinach is my all time favorite food and it deserves its own blog post damnit!

Seriously though, spinach is like a superfood.. it goes so well with any entree, I even make huge bowls of it as a snack. Because I’m a little spinach freak like that. My only qualm with spinach is that I use like four huge handfuls, and when it’s done sauteing it is maybe one handful. Come on, spinach! But still, so worth it.

Simple Sauteed Spinach

4-5 large handfuls of spinach leaves (I get mine from one of the local farmer’s markets, but I imagine it’d be like half of the bagged stuff)

1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil 

sea salt & pepper to taste

Put a large saucepan over medium heat. Put the EVOO in the pan and swirl it around a bit. Once it’s warm, add the spinach. Stir continuously.

Image

I always throw the lid on for about a minute just to get the spinach wilted. Once the spinach has reached your desired texture (I like mine wilted but not totally soft and gooey… that’s just nasty!), take it outta the pan, throw it in a bowl and sprinkle with sea salt and pepper. You can even try adding mushrooms.. Yum! Enjoy!

Image

2 Responses to “simple sauteed spinach”

  1. Mandis May 21, 2012 at 4:06 am #

    Reading these at night is not the best idea!!! I’m sooooo hungry !

  2. Kylie Hopkins July 25, 2012 at 2:04 am #

    Just made this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

