turkey bacon, egg white & cheddar breakfast sandwich

15 Jun

I have an obsession.. an expensive one. Fuckin’ Starbucks. Like the only place on Earth that will charge you $5 for a small coffee. But whatever, it’s a fact. I love it, and I will totally dish out $10 every morning for their reduced-fat turkey bacon breakfast sandwich and a teeny-tiny iced coffee. Well, I will until it comes to that point in between paychecks where I have $3 to last me 6 days. Bills, don’t you just hate ’em? Remember when your parents used to pay for everything?? The glory days, people. Anyway, I had to figure out a way to still be able to eat my favorite breakfast sandwich while keeping my electricity on.. oh, heyyy make it at home! Super easy, and just as delish!

Image

Turkey Bacon, Egg White & Cheddar Breakfast Sandwich a la Starbucks

1 whole wheat English muffin

2 egg whites (the whites from 2 eggs… sounds weird)

1 slice of white cheddar cheese

1-2 slices of turkey bacon

Heat a small skillet over medium-high heat. Put the bacon in the skillet and cook it til it’s crispy, flipping it regularly. I go for about 3-4 minutes on each side, but I like my bacon crispyyyy. Remove the bacon and place it on a napkin lined plate. You can either rinse your skillet or pull out a new one, I usually just scrape mine clean real quick. Throw your English muffin in the toaster.

Put your egg whites in the skillet over medium heat and scramble them to your desired consistency.

Assemble! I do English muffin, cheddar cheese slice, egg whites, topped with bacon, topped with other half of ol’ English. Pretty sure it doesn’t matter how you put it together, it’s going to taste just as good. Try a variety of toppings as well! Sometimes I add hot sauce, sometimes I add spinach. Enjoy!

Image

PS- Aren’t my new plates prettttty?? Charlie’s aunt and uncle sent them to us for an engagement gift! I loooove them!

 

PPS- Have any of ya’ll been watching Girls on HBO?? Please tell me Shoshanna kills you. Last week when she was talking  about match.com… “my nutrition teacher, who’s like soo cool, met her boyfriend on match.com, who’s like super cute & totally perf & they’re like the most happy together” bahahahaha! If you don’t watch it, you don’t know what I’m talking about and you need to watch it like… NOW.

Leave a Reply

