turkey meatballs

8 Oct

Whew! This weekend was a total whirlwind! Thursday night, Charlie and I went to Bastrop to have dinner with one of my best friends and her husband (we ate at Bastrop Brewhouse…best cheeseburger I’ve ever had, hands down) and then spent the night at my sister’s house in Austin. We woke up early Friday morning and got on the road to Dallas for Charlie’s cousin’s commitment ceremony. Good thing I checked the weather before we left, because Dallas got hit with a huge cold front! It literally went from 85 degrees to 50 overnight. Brr!!

The ceremony was gorgeous. It was held at Maple Manor and had a great rustic feel to it. I had only been to Dallas once before this, and I fell in love with it! We stayed at the Melrose Warwick, a super cool, vintage-y hotel. I loved the style of the hotel and I especially enjoyed the bar downstairs called The Library!

Ruben & Jamie had a photo booth set up so, of course, we took advantage of it. Here are some of my faves:

ImageCharlie, me, Charlie’s sister, Amanda and Charlie’s mom, Nori

ImageThe primas! 

ImageCharlie & I with his adorable little cousin, Kat

Image

We had so much fun!

We woke up early (and just a tiny bit hungover) Sunday morning and hit the road back to San Antonio. We got to take the new toll road for the first time and were psyched that it cut 45 minutes out of our trip!

Needless to say, when we finally made it home I was in no mood to cook. I convinced Charlie to stop at HEB (this is a feat in and of itself.. the man HATES grocery stores) because I had a craving for the turkey meatballs my mom used to get and I had my heart set on meatball subs. Unfortunately, the whole “I’m in no mood to cook” thing took a turn for the worse (worst?? which one is it?) when I couldn’t find the turkey meatballs (or any other already prepared meatballs for that matter). I ended up Googling a bunch of turkey meatball recipes while standing in the middle of the frozen foods aisle and putting bits and pieces together. The results were amazing!!

Image

Turkey Meatballs

Makes around 14 large meatballs

1 1/4-1 1/2 lbs ground turkey

1 Tbs chopped fresh basil

1 Tbs chopped fresh oregano

1/2 small sweet onion, diced

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups breadcrumbs

1/2 cup heavy cream

salt

pepper

garlic salt

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 Tbs butter

flour

In a bowl, mix the turkey meat, herbs, and onion. Sprinkle with salt, black pepper and garlic salt. Add the eggs, cream, and bread crumbs. Mix, mix, mix! (By mix, I mean mash it up with your hands. Obviously)

Image

Use your hands to form meatballs. Place the meatballs on a plate or a pan (I put mine on a foil-covered cookie sheet) and dust them with flour. To do this, I just rubbed flour all over my hands and then rolled the meatballs in my palms until they were lightly covered. Heat the oil and butter in a skillet. Let the butter cook over medium heat until it’s a golden brown, about 5 minutes. Then, brown the meatballs on all sides. This can get a little tricky. I used three different kitchen utensils before I finally decided the spatula worked best. Remember, you are only browning the meatballs this way, not cooking them through. Once the meatballs are brown, you can finish them off by roasting or baking them or by putting them in a pasta sauce and letting them simmer. I put the meatballs into a large jar of our favorite store bought pasta sauce and let them simmer for 35 minutes over medium heat.

You can do a lot of things with turkey meatballs. Stick toothpicks in them to make yummy appetizers, or do what I did and make meatball subs!

Image

I just added a slice of mozzarella cheese, some more fresh basil and parmesan and stuffed everything into a sub roll!

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

